Philosophy FSP student helps 2nd graders "reach the world"

Early this fall, when Debora Hyemin Han ’20 set out for Edinburgh, Scotland, for her Philosophy Foreign Study Program (FSP), she agreed to take 20 second-graders along. The children aren’t actually traveling with her, of course. They are tracking her journey by reading her blog posts and occasionally talking with her over Skype from their classroom at the Dothan Brook School in Hartford, Vt. Read more about the "Reach the World" program - co-founded by Dartmouth alumna a nonprofit co-founded by Dartmouth alumna Heather Halstead ’97 - that Debora is participating in in Dartmouth News.

Post-Doctoral Fellowship (Political Economy Project) invites applications

DARTMOUTH COLLEGE, Hanover, New Hampshire. The Department of Philosophy at Dartmouth College, in conjunction with the Political Economy Project at Dartmouth, invites applications for a two-year post-doctoral fellowship for recent Ph.D.s, ordinarily in Philosophy, to begin July 1, 2018.

Amie Thomasson wins APA Sanders Book Prize

Congratulations to Professor Amie Thomasson, who has just been awarded the American Philosophical Association's 2017 Sanders Book Prize for her book, Ontology Made Easy (Oxford University Press). The Sanders Book Prize is awarded to the best book in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition published in English in the previous five-year period. This prize is funded through the generosity of the Marc Sanders Foundation. Read more here.

James Moor wins Weizenbaum Award

Professor Jim Moor has won the 2017 Joseph Weizenbaum Award from the International Society for Ethics and Information Technology. It will be awarded at this year's EthicComp and Computer Ethics Philosophical Enquiry Conference at DeMontfort University in Leicester, UK. More about the award here. Please join us in congratulating Jim!

Phil alum Emily Esfahani Smith '09 on finding meaning in life

Emily Esfahani Smith '09 - who majored in Philosophy at Dartmouth -  is the author of The Power of Meaning: Finding Fulfillment in a World Obsessed with Happiness (Crown, 2017). Read more about her, her time at Dartmouth, and her new book in Dartmouth News.

Article by Samuel Levey selected as one of the 10 best of the year

Congratulations to Professsor and Chair of the Department of Philosophy Samuel Levey, whose article, "The Paradox of Sufficient Reason" (originally published in The Philosophical Review), was selected for The Philosopher's Annual as one of the ten best articles published in philosophy in 2016.

Kenneth Walden wins Arthur Danto Prize

Professor Walden has won the inaugural, biennial Arthur Danto Prize for his 2016 paper "Art and Moral Revolution". The prize is a joint effort between the American Philosophical Association and the American Society for Aesthetics, awarded for the best paper in aesthetics, broadly construed. The prize is named in honor of Arthur Danto (1924 - 2013), a prominent philosopher of art and past President of the APA. More information can be found here.